After the frantic first leg of the reshaped 2020 Formulation 1 season, motion resumes with the British Grand Prix to mark the primary of a Silverstone double-header.

Following a brief breather to recuperate from the primary trio of consecutive races, the F1 paddock reconvenes for a two-week keep at Silverstone as circuit hosts two behind closed doorways races.

Having claimed the report for many British GP wins by a driver final yr, Lewis Hamilton will likely be sturdy favorite for victory off the again of two straight pole positions and wins on the Styrian and Hungarian rounds.

However Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas, winner of the 2020 opener, will likely be wanting to strike again having misplaced the F1 world championship factors result in Hamilton final outing. The British driver at present leads the early standings by 5 factors.

Because of the temporary pause between the 2 opening triple-headers, the vast majority of F1 groups are anticipated to ship varied upgrades to their automobile packages having had time to digest the information and return to the crew bases after the final three races.

Whereas all groups will likely be aiming to shut the hole to the dominant Mercedes squad, Crimson Bull has additionally undergone a technical reshuffle with Daniel Ricciardo’s former engineer Simon Rennie slotting right into a trackside function on Alexander Albon’s facet of the storage.

Ferrari has additionally introduced a technical personnel shake-up, because it restructures its whole technical division following its powerful begin to the 2020 season.

Silverstone, which provided to host 12 races to assist organise the 2020 F1 calendar hit by the COVID-19 disaster, has additionally urged followers to avoid the circuit through the two races as a result of well being restrictions and measures taken to make sure F1 acquired the inexperienced gentle to go racing – warnings backed up by Hamilton and the native police.

The British GP begins the second run of triple-headers with the 70th Anniversary GP additionally being held at Silverstone, earlier than the trio is about to be accomplished with the Spanish GP.

2020 Formulation 1 British Grand Prix session timings

F1 is sticking to its conventional format of two free apply classes lasting 90 minutes every on Friday, adopted by an extra apply session working for one hour on Saturday morning.

The Q1, Q2 and Q3 knockout-style qualifying format can be being retained on Saturday afternoon to resolve the grid for the 52-lap British Grand Prix on Sunday.

The Formulation 2, Formulation Three and Porsche Supercup sequence are all performing as assist lessons to the F1 British GP.

Friday 31st July 2020

Free Follow 1: 11:00am-12:30pm BST (11:00am-12:30pm native)
Free Follow 2: 3:00pm-4:30pm BST (3:00pm-4:30pm native)

Saturday 1st August 2020

Free Follow 3: 11:00am-12:00pm BST (11:00am-12:00pm native)
Qualifying: 2:00pm-3:00pm BST (2:00pm-3:00pm native)

Sunday 2nd August 2020

Race: 2:10pm BST (2:10pm native)

Pirelli tyre allocation for the British Grand Prix

For the primary Silverstone race, all F1 drivers will choose between the three hardest compounds in Pirelli’s tyre vary: the white-walled arduous tyre C1, yellow-walled medium tyre C2 and red-walled delicate tyre C3.

Pirelli has opted to maneuver one step softer for the second Silverstone race, subsequent weekend’s 70th Anniversary GP, with the arduous tyre C2, medium tyre C3 and delicate tyre C4.

For a minimum of the opening eight races of the reshuffled 2020 F1 season every driver will likely be given the identical allocation of tyres per race: eight units of sentimental tyres, three units of medium tyres and two units of arduous tyres. Pirelli may also provide a variety of moist and intermediate tyres for every driver.

As well as, on the second Silverstone race all 10 F1 groups will take a look at 2021 Pirelli prototype tyres throughout Friday apply and on the Spanish GP the next weekend.

Most British Grand Prix winners

Lewis Hamilton: 6 wins (2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019)
Jim Clark: 5 wins (1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967)
Alain Prost: 5 wins (1983, 1985, 1989, 1990, 1993)
Nigel Mansell: Four wins (1986, 1987, 1991, 1992)
Jack Brabham: Three wins (1959, 1960, 1966)
Niki Lauda: Three wins (1976, 1982, 1984)
Michael Schumacher: Three wins (1998, 2002, 2004)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here